My First Mini Book Review!

I just finished Gideon’s Sword by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. I stumbled upon these authors a few years ago and read 2 of their Special Agent Pendergast novels, became intrigued, ordered about 8 of the novels from eBay and put them on my shelf. And never read them. Recently, I encountered The Cabinet of Curiosities which was somehow a sneaky promotion stuck behind my Kindle version of Brad Meltzer’s Inner Circle. The two books are completely unrelated, so this made no sense, but I read it anyway and it reminded me that I liked these authors. Rather than go to my basement and read some of their books, I grabbed Gideon’s Sword. I know, I don’t know why I do it either.

Anyway, Gideon’s Sword introduces a new protagonist: Gideon Crew. He seems to be some kind of genius who gets swept into an unbelievable plot after his revenge obsession is satisfied. I have no clue where the sword comes in, so if you’re looking for that, give up now. The book is fair, not anywhere near the quality of the Pendergast novels, and reads like an action movie. Oh, right. That’s because it’s already rumored to have been optioned by Paramount for direction by Michael Bay.

The book is a fast, techno-thriller. The protagonist is interesting, but ultimately shallow – or at least he reads that way. Where he honed his espionage talents is a mystery, and quite frankly, not one I really care about. Consider this for a beach read if you’re going on spring break. But if you’re looking for something comparable to the duos prior works, move along and keep looking.

7 Comments

Filed under Mini-Spoiler-Free Book Reviews

7 responses to “My First Mini Book Review!

  1. Sheri Kinney

    Wow, I’m disappointed. I was hoping it would be as good as the Pendergast books. I’ll probably still read it, but I’ll wait till it comes out in paperback. Thanks, WOTV. Your blog is helpful already!

  2. Kelly

    Well done, Wo. Well written, concise and believable. I will not be reading this book. Wait a minute… I just had an idea! Maybe I’ll start a blog reviewing book reviews! What do you think? 😉

  3. Sal Elacqua

    hey Wo, I’ve read all the Pendergast books. all good reading. will probably pick up this one by Lincoln-Child, too. Thanks for the review

  4. Sal Elacqua

    damn brain fart, screwed that name up, you know it should be Preston-Child. Tho, Lincoln Child did write a few novels by himself.

Leave a Reply

