Time Out for Some Classics and Self Help

Did I mention that I was reading with my kids? They’re teens, so it’s less and less often that our reading lists cross paths, but I decided to read what they were reading in school with them last month.

Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None was brilliant. Imagine having the ability to have ten people on an island and ALL of them end up murdered. Who is the murderer? You’ll have to read it yourself. This is mystery writing at its best.

My other son read Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton. His summary? It’s about a guy with a really crappy life. Very good assessment. But also incredibly written. The writing simply pulled me in and wouldn’t let go. This is how it’s done, folks. It’s a classic, and there’s a reason. Just start it and try to tell me that you can put it down and not find out how Ethan became the man he is…

I also took the time to check out a nonfiction book: Just One Thing by Rick Hanson, PhD. Based on the principles of simplicity derived from ancient wisdom (Buddha, anyone?), Dr. Hanson offers small way to enrich your life. Rather than being either a dry, research journal or a pep rally of inane advise, Just One Thing combines meditative techniques and neuro research to rewire your brain towards positive thinking. Anybody can handle these small changes, and everyone will benefit from them.

I’m currently trying to find time to read A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. This is a long one, but it reminds me of Harry Potter a bit, so I’m thinking I’ll stick with it.

2 Comments

Filed under Mini-Spoiler-Free Book Reviews

2 responses to “Time Out for Some Classics and Self Help

  1. When my oldest was in school I read with him a LOT. He was a slow reader and needed a lot of encouragement so we’d always read his school books together … him a chapter … me a chapter. You haven’t experienced an awkward reading moment until your tweenage son has to slowly and haltingly read you aloud the chapter in Fried Green Tomatoes where Evelyn wraps hers chubby, naked body in saran wrap to entice her husband into having sex. We were both nervous wrecks when he finally got through it.

    What ever happened to A Tale of Two Cities???

    • I hated that one! Didn’t Ms. Ring make us read that? You sat behind me and she kept getting “frosted” when we talked.

      I’m surprised Joey is now reading Of Mice and Men. He’s a freshman. Reading Steinbeck. Wow.

Leave a Reply

