Can We Talk Jack Reacher?

MV5BMTM1NjUxMDI3OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjg1ODM3OA@@._V1._SY317_CR3,0,214,317_I’ve had the Jack Reacher novels recommended to me for some time now, and for no reason whatsoever, I have resisted. I don’t know if it was my love affair with Alex Cross or that I just couldn’t be sure that he would appeal to me, but I just wouldn’t read the books. Until now.

The movie Jack Reacher is coming out and fans have mixed emotions about Tom Cruise playing Reacher, so I had to read the first Reacher novel to find out why there was such a hubbub among true Reacher fans. I get it now. There’s a big deal in the books about Reacher’s size. He’s a big guy. Over six feet tall. Tom Cruise, no offense, is a Hobbit next to Reacher.

Cruise can pull off the badass anti-cop all for the good of everyone guy… but can he pull of a no rules really big and intimidating guy like Reacher? Time will tell.

I will see the movie, mainly because my son is dying to see it. Will it hold up? I’ll let you know. For now, I will likely work my way through the Reacher novels between new reads. If you like fast paced, not really police procedurals, but mystery/suspense/action novels, and especially if you have given up on Alex Cross (I still hate you, James Patterson, for giving in to the almighty dollar and sacrificing quality books) ever being the man he once was, you might give Reacher a try.

Happy Reading from the Verge!

Leave a comment

Filed under Mini-Spoiler-Free Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

