Fifty Shades of Poorly Written Erotica… and One Kickass Parody

Yes, I did it. I read Fifty Shades of Grey and it’s sequels. I thought it wise to read it before joining in on the conversation. Now, before you get your panties in a twist over the fact that I called it poorly written, that is my opinion and I am simply expressing it. It’s crap. I mean no disrespect to fanfiction writers who are decent writers, but this novel, adapted from fanfic, is just awful.

Without “spoiling” it for you, this is mild BDSM and lots of abnormal psychology. Both main characters appear to be schizophrenic because they fall in love in seconds, cure a fetish, and the woman alternately wants/doesn’t want to be with the messed up guy. If that isn’t enough for you, NOBODY wants to have that much sex. Ever. Nobody. I’m telling you now, I don’t even want to READ about that much sex. One more “thrust” and that book was going in the bonfire. So, if you want to know what all the fuss is about, go ahead and read it. But don’t come here and ask me to explain what a butt plug is.

After I suffered through Fifty Shades of WTF, I read Fifty Shames of Earl Grey by Andrew Shaffer writing as Fanny Merkin. ย It was worth reading the over the top erotica just so I could enjoy this parody. It was hilarious and played off of the books perfectly. It is the only real reason to read Fifty Shades in the first place. Trust me. It won’t hurt a bit.

11 Comments

Filed under Mini-Spoiler-Free Book Reviews

11 responses to “Fifty Shades of Poorly Written Erotica… and One Kickass Parody

  1. I’ve been wondering what all the fuss is about when it comes to this series, but erotica isn’t really my thing so I wasn’t sure if I should pick up a copy or not. But this post answers my questions. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you for taking all those thrusts for the rest of us!

  2. Saysh

    I ALWAYS want that much sex. Probably because I am not getting any. ๐Ÿ˜›

    (But for reals, even when I DO.. So, it is possible to want/have that much. You just cant do anything else – like a have a job)

  3. My significant other was reading the book (note: she wants me to emphasize that she didn’t buy it but that it was donated to her by a fellow traveler). I picked it up and read a paragraph. 5 sentences all starting with I, I went, I go, I did, I this, I that.

    How about a passive sentence… or maybe someone should send her a thesaurus. I read another person say that if you take out her climaxes you would be left with about 50 pages.

  4. I was hoping it was your parody of “Fifty Shades” you were talking about. That I’d like to read.

    After all, I’ve already been your minion!

  5. This book sounds just horrible …. yuck. Funny note: my Mom has it on her kindle and she has NO idea how it got there.

Leave a comment